

Manitoba

THRONE SPEECH PROCEDURE

for the

Second Session of the Forty-Third

MANITOBA LEGISLATURE

Tuesday, November 19, 2024

1:30 p.m.

Legislative Assembly of Manitoba

NDP Transcona ALTOMARE, Hon. Nello ASAGWARA, Hon. Uzoma **NDP** Union Station PC Brandon West BALCAEN, Wayne PC BEREZA, Jeff Portage la Prairie BLASHKO, Tyler **NDP** Lagimodière BRAR, Diljeet NDP Burrows BUSHIE, Hon. Ian **NDP** Keewatinook BYRAM, Jodie PC Agassiz CABLE, Hon. Renée **NDP** Southdale Fort Richmond CHEN, Jennifer **NDP** COMPTON, Carla **NDP** Tuxedo PC Roblin COOK, Kathleen CROSS, Billie **NDP** Seine River Radisson DELA CRUZ, Jelynn **NDP DEVGAN, JD NDP McPhillips** EWASKO, Wayne PC Lac du Bonnet St. Johns FONTAINE, Hon. Nahanni **NDP** GOERTZEN, Kelvin PC Steinbach **GUENTER**, Josh PC Borderland PC Morden-Winkler **HIEBERT**, Carrie JACKSON, Grant PC Spruce Woods PC Interlake-Gimli JOHNSON, Derek KENNEDY, Hon. Nellie **NDP** Assiniboia PC Fort Whyte KHAN, Obby KINEW, Hon. Wab **NDP** Fort Rouge KING, Trevor PC Lakeside **NDP** KOSTYSHYN, Hon. Ron Dauphin LAGASSÉ, Bob PC Dawson Trail LAMOUREUX, Cindy IND LIB Tyndall Park LATHLIN, Amanda **NDP** The Pas-Kameesak LINDSEY, Hon. Tom **NDP** Flin Flon LOISELLE, Robert **NDP** St. Boniface **NDP** Elmwood MALOWAY, Jim MARCELINO, Hon. Malaya **NDP** Notre Dame MOROZ, Hon. Mike **NDP** River Heights **NDP** St. Vital MOSES, Hon. Jamie MOYES, Mike **NDP** Riel NARTH, Konrad PC La Vérendrye **NDP** NAYLOR, Hon. Lisa Wolseley NESBITT, Greg PC Riding Mountain **NDP** Kirkfield Park OXENHAM, Logan

PANKRATZ, David	NDP	Waverley
PERCHOTTE, Richard	PC	Selkirk
PIWNIUK, Doyle	PC	Turtle Mountain
REDHEAD, Eric	NDP	Thompson
SALA, Hon. Adrien	NDP	St. James
SANDHU, Hon. Mintu	NDP	The Maples
SCHMIDT, Hon. Tracy	NDP	Rossmere
SCHOTT, Rachelle	NDP	Kildonan-River East
SCHULER, Ron	PC	Springfield-Ritchot
SIMARD, Hon. Glen	NDP	Brandon East
SMITH, Hon. Bernadette	NDP	Point Douglas
STONE, Lauren	PC	Midland
WASYLIW, Mark	IND	Fort Garry
WHARTON, Jeff	PC	Red River North
WIEBE, Hon. Matt	NDP	Concordia

PC

Swan River

Officers in the service of the Legislative Assembly

Mr. Rick Yarish, Clerk

Mr. Tim Abbott, Deputy Clerk

Mr. Greg Recksiedler, Clerk Assistant

Ms. Katerina Tefft, Clerk Assistant

Ms. Vanessa Gregg, Clerk Assistant

Ms. Melanie Ching, Clerk Assistant

Mr. Dave Shuttleworth, Sergeant-at-Arms

Mr. Cam Steel, Deputy Sergeant-at-Arms

Mr. Rob Lockhart, Deputy Sergeant-at-Arms

WOWCHUK, Rick

THRONE SPEECH PROCEDURE FOR THE SECOND SESSION OF THE FORTY-THIRD LEGISLATURE November 19, 2024

- 1. Her Honour the Lieutenant Governor, the Lead Aide-de-camp, Officer Escort, the Premier, the Chief Justice and the Private Secretary meet in the Lieutenant Governor's reception room.
- 2. All Members of the Legislative Assembly proceed to their seats in the Chamber and remain standing. All Members of the Legislative Assembly participating virtually must remain seated.
- 3. At 1:30 p.m. the Sergeant-at-Arms followed by the Speaker, the Clerk, the Deputy Clerk, the Clerk Assistant and the Pages enter the Chamber.
- 4. Her Honour the Lieutenant Governor, accompanied by the Lead Aide-de-camp, the Officer Escort, the Premier, the Chief Justice and the Private Secretary, enters the Chamber and the Lieutenant Governor takes her seat on the Throne.
- 5. The Private Secretary delivers the Throne Speech to Her Honour the Lieutenant Governor.
- 6. Her Honour the Lieutenant Governor will say, "PLEASE BE SEATED" and then read the Throne Speech.
- 7. After completion of the Throne Speech, Her Honour the Lieutenant Governor will rise from the Throne to retire. ALL MEMBERS AND GUESTS STANDING

Her Honour the Lieutenant Governor, accompanied by the Lead Aide-de-camp, the Officer Escort, the Premier, the Provincial Court Judges and the Private Secretary, proceed towards the North doors of the Chamber.

Prior to their exiting the Chamber, "God Save the King" and "O Canada" will be sung.

- 8. The Speaker proceeds to the Throne and reads the Prayer and the Land Acknowledgement.
- 9. The Premier moves:

"THAT Bill (No. 1) – An Act respecting the Administration of Oaths of Office/Loi sur la prestation des serments d'entrée en fonction, be now read a First Time."

10. The Premier moves:

"THAT the Speech of Her Honour the Lieutenant Governor be taken into consideration tomorrow."

11. The Premier moves:

"THAT this House do now adjourn."

ALL MEMBERS AND GUESTS STANDING. 12.

The Speaker, preceded by the Sergeant-at-Arms and followed by the Clerks and Pages, exits the Chamber.